Don’t Be Duped!

Signing in quickly to share a forewarning!  The super dupers are at it again!

I can’t let this one go! So,… a blogging I go!  This time, I thought I would teach others how to quickly spot something wrong in their email inbox.  If  you are interested in learning a few red flags, follow me! I’ll be quick!

Here is what happened and how I spotted a scam. Here goes!

I am in rush today.  An errand done out of love stripped a few extra hours from my tight schedule.  I quickly sign on my email account to do what I can with the remaining time before a meeting, and in preparation for a meeting.

I scan through my message list quickly, select the messages for my meeting, and then see a sender’s name that makes me stop and take note. In the FROM list of my email it shows “Delta AirLines”.

Hmmnn… notice the spelling?

The SUBJECT of this Delta AirLines message shows a paperclip which means there is something attached to the email–file, picture, or something.  Then it reads: “Download your ticket #NR9715.”

I am ready for a vacation, but wait! I didn’t buy a ticket recently! SLOW DOWN! Check out this message. Hurrying will only lead to a mistake or accidental click on a wrong button!

Here is the carefully clicked message: (Please note: some would tell you to delete it if you knew you hadn’t purchased a ticket. I clicked because I am writing to you about the scam. I also italicized the message for clarity from my own written words.)

 TICKET NUMBER / EH793044111
 SEAT / 35E/ZONE 3
DATE / TIME 23 JANUARY, 2014, 09:45 AM
ARRIVING / Modesto
 FORM OF PAYMENT / XXXXXX
TOTAL PRICE / 203.69 USD
REF / LE.6825 ST / OK
 BAG / 7PC

Please find your ticket attached.
You can print your ticket.

Thank you for using our airline company services.
Delta Air Lines.

And that was the end of the message. The attached file ended with “.zip” which means any  unzipping might take down my computer! No thanks!

Everything was clearly off–a zip file, ticket price for the destination, and number of bags. It seemed more an attempt to GET my information, rather than an unauthorized use of my information.  I went straight to Delta’s website and typed “Scam” in the search box. A page came up: To Protect Your Data 

Sure enough, after reading the first paragraph from Delta’s website I see it is another clear-cut scam (easier to handle than someone who has gotten my personal information and misused it!).

Now, I’m out of time, but I hope this helps you to see a super duper’s attempt to get you!  Be careful!

Leave a Reply

